Skip to Content

Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity in Jitterbit Studio

Introduction

A Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity, using its Jitterbit App Builder connection, deletes an existing item for an object in the Jitterbit App Builder application and is intended to be used as a target to consume data in an operation.

If the application's data source uses roles-based authorization, the App Builder user that the connection authenticates as must have the Delete role permission on the selected object.

Create a Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity

An instance of a Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity is created from a Jitterbit App Builder connection using its Delete activity type.

To create an instance of an activity, drag the activity type to the design canvas or copy the activity type and paste it on the design canvas. For details, see Create an activity or tool instance in Component reuse.

An existing Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity can be edited from these locations:

Configure a Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity

Follow these steps to configure a Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity:

Step 1: Enter a name and select an object

In this step, provide a name for the activity and select an object. Each user interface element of this step is described below.

  • Endpoint menu: If you have multiple endpoints of the same connector type configured, a menu at the top of the screen displays the current endpoint name. Click the menu to switch to a different endpoint. For more information, see Change the assigned endpoint in Configuration screens.

    • Edit endpoint: Appears when you hover over the current endpoint name. Click to edit the currently selected endpoint's connection configuration.
  • Name: Enter a name to identify the activity. The name must be unique for each Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity and must not contain forward slashes / or colons :.

  • Select an Object: This section displays the objects available in the Jitterbit App Builder application, taken from its published OpenAPI document. An object named after a resource and an event (for example, Department(Approve)) represents a custom event exposed through the application's REST API. To invoke an event, use a Create activity instead.

    • Selected Object: After an object is selected, it is listed here.

    • Search: Enter an object's name into the search box to filter the list of objects. The search is not case-sensitive. If objects are already displayed within the table, the table results are filtered in real time with each keystroke.

    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon or the word Refresh to reload objects from the application's OpenAPI document. This may be useful if objects have been added to the application.

    • Selecting an Object: Within the table, click anywhere on a row to select an object. Only one object can be selected. The Name of each object is fetched from the application's OpenAPI document.

    Tip

    If the table does not populate with available objects, the Jitterbit App Builder connection may not be successful. Ensure you are connected by reopening the connection and retesting the credentials.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2: Select an operation

In this step, select an operation for the object selected in the previous step. Each user interface element of this step is described below.

  • Select an Operation: This section displays the operations available for the selected object. For a Delete activity, one operation is available, which deletes an existing item for the object (for example, "Delete a '\' item.").

    • Click anywhere on a row to select an operation. Only one operation can be selected.
  • Optional Settings: Click to expand additional optional settings:

    • Continue on error: Select to keep processing the remaining items in a batch when an item fails. By default, this option is not selected, and the operation stops at the first failed item and reports the vendor's error message. When this option is selected, each failed item is marked as failed with the vendor's error message, and the other items return their normal results. Each item in the response includes an isSuccess field, a status field (returned as an empty string), and, for a failed item, errors.cause and errors.detailedMessage fields that describe the failure.
  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

  • Step 3: Review the data schemas

    Any request or response schemas are displayed. Each user interface element of this step is described below.

    • Data Schemas: These data schemas are inherited by adjacent transformations and are displayed again during transformation mapping. The schemas, named deleteRequest and deleteResponse, are generated automatically from the application's OpenAPI document.

    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon or the word Refresh to regenerate schemas from the application's OpenAPI document. This action also regenerates a schema in other locations throughout the project where the same schema is referenced, such as in an adjacent transformation.

    • Edit: Click the edit icon above each data schema to enter the editor for that data schema. The editor allows you to add, delete, and reorganize nodes and fields and change their data types. All newly added nodes and fields are set to [0, 1] cardinality. Changes made to the data schemas must be acceptable to the application's OpenAPI document and should be made only after consulting the application's own API documentation. After making schema edits, a last-edited date is displayed along the top of the applicable schema to indicate the schema has had manual edits. Refreshing the schemas will reset the schemas to their default structures.

    • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

    • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.

    • Discard changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

    Next steps

    After configuring a Jitterbit App Builder Delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities or tools as operation steps. You can also configure the operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

    Menu actions for an activity are accessible from the project pane and the design canvas. For details, see Activity actions menu in Connector basics.

    Jitterbit App Builder Delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

    To use the activity with scripting functions, use the activity as a target in a transformation that maps from a temporary location.

    When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.